CHATEAU & VINEYARD

BETWEEN CONTE AND ADVENTURE: THE HISTORY OF BARBEBELLE

 Lands cultivated by Romans, a typical château from 16th centuries, 45 hectares of vines in a preserved and authentic 300 hectares nature : welcome to Château Barbebelle, one of the oldest vineyard of Aix en Provence !  It is the stronghold of the Herbeau family. An history that continues with the 4th generation: Madeleine decided to join her father to write in four hands the future of the family business. Together, they intend to continue to consolidate the reputation of home wines, and highlight the qualities and the typicity of their terroir in France and in many countries.

fontaines-devant
 

EXCEPTIONAL TERROIR

At 16 kms of Aix-en-Provence, on the road to the Luberon, the Coteaux d’Aix en Provence vineyard occupies 45 hectares in a single estate of 300 hectares. It is in the heart of a protected wildlife, between cypress trees, pines and holm oaks, that vines draw all their wealth to give quality wines. The grape varieties of the appellation (grenache, syrah, cabernet-sauvignon, cinsault, vermentino, sauvignon …) are settled on a homogeneous territory of clayey-limestone slopes on a hilly relief, favorable to viticulture, very representative of Provence  » Our vineyards in Coteaux enjoy an excellent sunshine. Nevertheless, they do not suffer too much from the heat. 

terroir-2 

terroir-2

Clay and limestone soils retain moisture. The rugged relief ensures good ventilation and the average altitude of the vineyard – 370 meters – gives us fresh nights even in summer. Finally, the mistral de Provence naturally cleanses the grapes. This brings a little respite to our plants which ripen with more regularity. In addition, the field practices respect for the environment and for quality a reasoned agriculture validated by the label « Mediterranean nutrition »: treatments are minimized and weed control is mechanical.

TRADITIONAL AND MODERN CAVES

2015, THE SHOCK OF GENERATIONS AND GENRES

On one side we have the « elders », their experience, their knowledge and vineyard techniques make them essential resources for Château Barbebelle. In front is the « young generation » with Madeleine in first. Although she grew up in the middle of vineyards and graduated from EDHEC Business School, she knows she still has a lot to learn. And Madeleine acknowledges that it is probably not in the care of the vines that she thinks she can bring something more to the formidable work of her team. But her entrepreneurial training and her feminine touch certainly !

brice-et-madeleine

2018, A HAPPY MARRIAGE - SHARING PRIVATE AND PROFESSIONAL LIFE

Today Madeleine and Valentin Premmereur work together with passion, love and especially with a great complementarity; Valentin takes care of the vineyards and Madeleine of the commercial, communication, all the development strategy part and the administrative part. Together with Thomas Benard, the oenologist of the estate, they realize the winemaking. Committed to the best and the worst!

brice-et-madeleine

CHÂTEAU & VIGNOBLE

ENTRE CONTE ET AVENTURE : L'HISTOIRE DE BARBEBELLE

Des terres cultivées en leur temps par les Romains, une bâtisse et un parc paysager plusieurs fois centenaire, 300 hectares tout autour d’eux dont une quarantaine de vignes : bienvenue au Château Barbebelle, l’un des plus vieux domaines vinicoles du Pays Aixois. Il est le fief de la famille Herbeau depuis quatre générations. Une saga qui se poursuit  avec la 4ème génération, toujours plus moderne : Madeleine a décidé de rejoindre son père pour écrire à quatre mains l’avenir de l’affaire familiale. Ensemble, ils entendent consolider encore la renommée des vins maison, faire valoir les qualités et la typicité de leur terroir en France et dans de nombreux pays.

fontaines-devant
 

UN TERROIR EXCEPTIONNEL

A 16 kms au nord d’Aix-en-Provence, sur la route du Luberon, le vignoble entièrement en appellation Coteaux d’Aix-en-Provence occupe 45 hectares dans un domaine d’un seul tenant de 300 hectares. C’est donc au cœur d’une faune et flore protégée, entre les cyprès, les pins parasols et les chênes verts, que les vignes du Château puisent toutes leurs richesses pour donner des vins de qualité. Les cépages de l’appellation (grenache, syrah, cabernet- sauvignon, cinsault, vermentino, sauvignon…) s’installent sur un territoire homogène de coteaux argilo-calcaire sur un relief accidenté, propice à la viticulture, très représentatif de la Provence « Nos vignes en Coteaux profitent d’un excellent ensoleillement. Pour autant,

terroir-2 

terroir-2

elles ne souffrent pas trop de la chaleur. Les sols argilo-calcaire gardent bien l’humidité. Le relief accidenté assure une bonne ventilation et l’altitude moyenne du vignoble – 370 mètres – nous vaut des nuits fraîches, même en plein été. Enfin, le mistral de Provence assainit naturellement le raisin. Cela apporte un peu de répit à nos plantes qui mûrissent ainsi avec plus de régularité. » Par ailleurs, le domaine pratique par respect pour l’environnement et par souci de qualité une agriculture raisonnée validée par le label « nutrition méditerranéenne » : les traitements sont minimisés et le désherbage est mécanique.

 

DES CAVES ALLIANT TRADITION ET MODERNITE

2015, LE CHOC DES GENERATIONS ET DES GENRES

D’un côté nous avons les « anciens », leur expérience, leur connaissance des vignes et des techniques viticoles en font des ressources primordiales au Château Barbebelle. En face c’est la « jeune génération » avec Madeleine en tête. Bien qu’aillant grandi au milieu des vignes et diplômée de l’EDHEC Business School, elle sait qu’elle a encore beaucoup à apprendre. Et Madeleine reconnaît que ce n’est probablement pas aux soins de la vigne qu’elle pense pouvoir apporter quelque chose de plus au formidable travail de son équipe. Mais sa formation entrepreneuriale et sa touche féminine, certainement !

brice-et-madeleine